Grants & Awards

About this page

As part of its overall charter to support journalism research and academics, the JERAA has initiated a number of research grants and awards.

2017 JERAA Research Grant - application deadline March 31

As part of its overall charter to support journalism academics, the JERAA is offering ONE $6000 grant in 2017 to mid-career journalism academics, to support them in conducting research about a journalism-related topic.

The grant will assist the successful applicants to conduct a small-scale research project with outcomes that can be delivered in 24 months by 30 April 2019. The aim is to help the academics to illustrate their capacity to design/manage a project, boost their research profile, and increase their leverage when applying for future research funding.

NOTE: considering the size of the grant the applicant must liaise with the head of their academic unit and preferably obtain a written commitment from the relevant administrative body at the institution (such as the research office) that no or a nominal administration fee will be charged by the university in administering the grant.

Download the full grant description and application guidelines here.

2017 Anne Dunn Scholar award - application deadline March 31

The Anne Dunn Scholar award recognises the life and work of broadcaster, journalism educator and media scholar Anne Dunn (1952-2012).

The award includes a $3000 prize, supported by JERAA, the Australian & New Zealand Communication Association (ANZCA) and Anne Dunn's family.

The award aims to honour Anne’s commitment to critical research of high academic standard. It recognises excellence in research about the fields of communication and journalism, including but not limited to broadcast media for the public benefit. This reflects Anne's passion for public service broadcasting, radio studies and media ethics, and her work in bridging journalism and media studies scholarship.

Note: The deadline for applications for the 2017 Anne Dunn Scholar of the Year Award will be the close of business (Australian time), Friday 31st March.

Judging will be done by two members of the JERAA executive and two members of the ANZCA executive and will be finalised in early April. This should allow time for the winner to use the prize to attend either or both of the annual ANZCA and JERAA conferences should they wish to do so.

Who can apply?
The award is open to all scholars working in the journalism and communication studies fields in Australia and New Zealand. Applicants must be able to refer to a body of their own research work in journalism or communication. As a journalist, Anne Dunn worked primarily in broadcast media but applications are welcome from scholars in any part of the journalism and communication field. Entries will be judged on the merit of the body of work that is submitted. The award explicitly aims to honour Anne’s commitment to critical research of high academic standard.

Application guidelines

To apply to become the 2017 Anne Dunn Scholar of the Year, please submit an application via email to the current president of the JERAA, Professor Matthew Ricketson at and the current president of ANZCA, Dr Phillip McIntyre at by 31st March 2017. You’ll need to put the words “Anne Dunn award” in the subject line of your email. Your application must include the following details:



Contact postal address



Description of body of research about journalism, communication and/or broadcast media for the public benefit (two pages maximum).

Demonstration of the impact of the body of research (one page maximum).

Statement about how the chosen body of research commemorates the aims and spirit of Anne Dunn’s scholarly work (half a page maximum).

Emma A. Jane wins Anne Dunn Scholar Award 2016

The 2016 Anne Dunn Scholar award for excellence in research about communication or journalism has been awarded to Emma A. Jane, senior lecturer at the University of New South Wales. Warm congratulations, Emma, from the Journalism Education and Research Association of Australia and the Australian and New Zealand Communication Association.

The Anne Dunn Scholar Award was set up in 2014 to commemorate the life and work of a much valued and sorely missed colleague – Professor Anne Dunn. Members of Anne Dunn’s family and the two associations decided to offer an annual award worth $3,000. It recognises excellence in research about the fields of communications or journalism, including but not limited to broadcast media for the public benefit.

The award is in memory of a remarkable broadcaster, journalism educator and media scholar. Anne was known for her efforts to build bridges, whether between industry and the academy or across academic disciplines, for her mentoring of younger women making the adjustment from working in news media to academia and for her life-long commitment to public sector broadcasting.

ANZCA president Donald Matheson said Emma A. Jane had produced an impressive body of research investigating online misogyny and cyberhate since 2012. "She shows not only great scholarly energy, but also a commitment to harnessing that research for the public good."

JERAA president Matthew Ricketson said: "The judges for the Anne Dunn scholar award this year welcomed the increase in the number of entries and were impressed by the quality of the strongest entries, which demonstrated sound scholarship and a refreshing originality of research topics."

The judges again encourage members of both ANZCA and JERAA who have developed a strong body of research about communication and journalism to enter the award. Please enter so your work can be celebrated and we can showcase it to the wider academic community. Don't be shy!

Previous Anne Dunn Scholars:

A/Prof Mia Lindgren, 2015

Dr Siobhan McHugh, 2014


Journalism research grant 2016

Winner: Dr Stephanie Brookes, Monash University

Project title: Checking the facts: The impact of new sources of political information on ‘legacy’ election
coverage in Australia and the United States

Project summary:
This project will undertake a comparative case-study analysis of the online political coverage of
‘legacy’ news organisations at key moments during the 2016 election cycles in Australia and the
United States. It addresses the key research question: how does election campaign coverage
provided by ‘legacy’ or traditional news organisations compete with and incorporate the new
styles and technologies for presenting political information used by emerging digital
competitors; and what can a comparative analysis of their coverage tell us about the changing
nature of political journalism in Australia and the United States?


Conference Scholarship for Postgrad Students JERAA 2016

Winner: Nicole Gooch, Monash University


Paper title: Environmental risks and the media - a case study of two mining disasters: Brazil’s Samarco
and New Caledonia’s Goro.

Project summary:

This paper examines two examples of environmental disasters and the politics behind the
media’s coverage of the risks linked to those mining operations before and after the accidents.
It then asks how this coverage influenced public perception of environmental risks, and
proposes a new framework for environmental journalism, that, in combination with political
ecology, questions power relationships, development theories and the unpredictable nature of
so-called ‘accidents’.